F3 Test Day 2 & 3

We are back with the results from day 2 and 3 of the post season test in Valencia, lets see who tops the time of each session!

Day 2 Morning-

There was a number of different driver changes for the second day of testing with the main two being Paul Aron replacing Arthur Leclerc at PREMA Racing and Oliver Rasmussen switching to ART Grand Prix.

David Vidales was the first to set the lead time with a 1:21.723 for Campos with Stanek setting an almost identical time shorty afterwards and Saucy set the top 3.

Crawford was then a familiar name at the top during the final hour of the morning session as he went quickest with a 1:21.368 but shortly after there was a red-flag due to Johnathan Hoggard.

The action then resumed but the order didnt really change with the top three being Crawford, Saucy and Stanek.

The top 10 from Tuesday’s morning session:

1Jak CrawfordPREMA Racing1:21.368
2Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:21.447
3Roman StanekTrident1:21.453
4Caio ColletMP Motorsport1:21.475
5Jack DoohanVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.521
6Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing1:21.593
7Zane MaloneyTrident1:21.666
8David VidalesCampos Racing1:21.723
9Kaylen FrederickHiTech Grand Prix1:21.839
10Reece UshijimaVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.889


Three rookies set the standard for the afternoon session, with Colapinto leading Jenzer Motorsport duo Enzo Trulli and William Alatalo with a lap time of 1:22.757.

Edgar then put in a 1:22.739 which put the 2021 Team Champion, Trident at the top of the leaderboard before Saucy brought the session to a halt with a red flag.

Collet was the first to break the 1m 22s on this afternoon session after lapping a 1:21.843 which many drivers tried to beat and failed at doing so. But with only 15 minutes left of the session, Saucy decided to put on new tyres and to knock off the driver off P1 when he lapped a 1:21.789.

The top 10 is as follows for Tuesday’s afternoon session:

1Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:21.759
2Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:21.789
3Caio ColletMP Motorsport1:21.843
4Paul AronPREMA Racing1:21.857
5Roman StanekTrident1:21.864
6Kaylen FrederickHiTech Grand Prix1:21.913
7Zane MaloneyTrident1:21.927
8Jak CrawfordPREMA Racing1:21.941
9David Vidales Campos Racing1:21.951
10Oliver Bearman PREMA Racing1:21.979

Day 3- Morning-

The drivers didn’t hang about to get out on track this morning as soon as the lights went green the action started. We had Caio Collet set the early pace at 1:21.392 ahead of MP’s Colapinto and Ushijima.

Smolyars return to Formula Three machinery didn’t last long as his VAR came to a stop in the first hour which paused the session. Once it resumed Saucy took P1 from Collet by only 0.092s there was then two further stoppages as Bearman came to a halt at Turn 12 and Marti stopped at Turn 4.

Focus then went to data gathering in the second half of the morning and Saucy kept his place at the top of the leaderboard.

The top 10 is as follows for the morning session:

1Grégoire SaucyART Grand Prix1:21.300
2Caio ColletMP Motorsport1:21.392
3Jack DoohanVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.401
4Roman StanekTrident1:21.422
5Franco ColapintoMP Motorsport1:21.543
6Zane MaloneyTrident1:21.597
7Kaylen FrederickHiTech Grand Prix1:21.629
8Jak CrawfordPREMA Racing1:21.767
9Paul AronPREMA Racing1:21.835
10Victor MartinsART Grand Prix1:21.873


There was lots of long-runs in the afternoon stint until the last half an hour. Collet kept up his impressive work and set the time of 1:22.811 ahead of Edgar and Ushijima.

Collet remained at the top for 2 hours and a half until Doohan pushed him off after there was a red flag due to Benavides stopping on track.

Zak O’Sullivan managed to break into the top 10 after spending the first two days if testing in the latter half of leaderboard. He finished ahead of teammate Logan Sargeant.

The top 10 is as follows for the final session of the 3 days:

1Jack DoohanVan Amersfoort Racing1:22.354
2Reece UshijimaCampos Racing1:22.545
3Jonny EdgarTrident1:22.658
4Alexander SmolyarVan Amersfoort Racing1:22.794
5Filip UgranVan Amersfoort Racing1:22.801
6Caio ColletMP Motorsport1:22.811
7Hunter YeanyCampos Racing1:22.884
8Zak O’SullivanCarlin Buzz Racing1:22.940
9Logan SargeantCarlin Buzz Racing1:23.046
10Isack HadjarHiTech Grand Prix1:23.011

And this wraps up the post-season testing! Keep your eyes peeled for announcements on which drivers will be on track next year and when the testing calendar for 2022…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: