Penalty Points

Since 2014, Formula One has had a penalty point system in place, where any breaches of the rules mean a drivers’ super licence is given endorsements. If any of the drivers rack up 12 points over a 12 month period they well then be banned for one race.

Last year there was lots of penalty points given out for a number of different reasons which included failing to respect yellow flags, practice start violations.

So, going into the new race year the rookies start off with zero, as well as Alonso, Bottas, Verstappen, Latifi, Gasly and Vettel. However in the first race weekend Vettel managed to get 5 over a weekend which has brought him up the table very quickly…

On the other end of the scale we have defending 7 time world champion Lewis Hamilton and he is joined by Mr Saturday (George Russell) and Lando Norris.

It will be very interesting to see how many points everyone will finish on at the end of a 23 race year… Below is how many each driver currently has 🙂

Lewis Hamilton6
George Russell6
Lando Norris5
Sebastian Vettel5
Kimi Raikkonen4
Charles Leclrec3
Antonio Giovinazzi3
Lance Stroll 3
Sergio Perez2
Carlos Sainz 1
Esteban Ocon1
Daniel Ricciardo1
Pierre Gasly0
Valtteri Bottas0
Max Verstappen0
Nicholas Latifi0
Fernando Alonso0
Yuki Tsunoda0
Mick Schumacher0
Nikita Mazepin0
Updated table of Penalty Points 02/04/2021

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: